Tommy Coyle – Incomplete Control (MP3 Download)


SKU: N/A Categories: ,


Indie-folk-rock singer-songwriter Tommy Coyle from York, England releases his latest album, the long awaited ‘Incomplete Control’.

‘Incomplete Control’ contains 13 tracks of original material. It is a labour of love put together over many hours and recorded in both home and commercial studios.

The result is a work that is both melodic and lyrically complex.

Songs included are ‘Ahmed’, (a reworking of one of his most popular songs), this time recorded with a full band. ‘Monday Morning’ written about life in London and three songs about relationships (‘Nothing Special’, ‘Cool’ and ‘No’).

Other subjects covered include addiction (‘Self Development Blues’), parenthood (‘Without Kids To Grow’ and ‘Fantastic Father’), depression (‘Everybody Loves Ya’) and finally death (‘Before You Give Yourself a Heart Attack…’) which features the banjo of  top American bluegrass picker Steve Cooley. The music ranges from upbeat tunes to ballads with a large serving of memorable musical hooks and riffs.

Tommy grew up listening to anthemic alternative bands such as Oasis, Longpigs, Eels, Arctic Monkeys and Glasvegas. These bands were a big inspiration as well as more melancholic singer-songwriters such as Jackson Browne, Elliott Smith, Conor Oberst (Bright Eyes) and Sufjan Stevens.

After returning from travelling in Australia, New Zealand, Thailand, Laos and Vietnam, Tommy made his home in London where he released his first album ‘Voodoo Sessions’ and worked as a full-time musician appearing at a variety of venues and hosting his own open mic nights.

He moved back to Yorkshire just before the Coronavirus lockdown of 2020.

Tommy is now working on a follow-up album and planning the next chapter of his musical journey. 

“….everyday dramas and pains of the heart are shot through with dry humour and raw emotion….utterly compelling” – The Sandman Magazine

“A great songwriter is among us….honest and thoughtful ….he tells it how it is….thinks of things we’ve missed and chucks them at us too. Lyrics that are always immediately touching and provoking are spliced with simply brilliantly simple melodies that you end up singing the next day. Class I tells ye” – Alfie Jackson (The Holloways)

Available March 2021

Released worldwide on Circuit Music t/a Fat Cat Records (FATCD044).

Additional information

Select Track

Full Album, Ahmed, Monday Morning, Nothing Special, Cool, Self-Development Blues, Strangers for Life, Without Kids to Grow, Fantastic Father, Everybody Loves Ya, No, Ahmed (Reprise), Before You Give Yourself a Heart Attack