The Best of While and Matthews (MP3 Download)


Track Listing

1 The Light in my Mother’s Eye
2 Westward
3 Shadow of my Former Self
4 Walk the Line
5 Generation Game
6 Distant as the Poles
7 Even the Desert Bears a Seed
8 Piecework
9 Seven Years of Rust
10 Steady Breathing
11 Perfect Mistake
12 On My Way
13 The Thorn Upon the Rose
14 Starting All Over
15 Class Reunion


The seventh release from Chris While and Julie Matthews includes 15 of their greatest songs. The songs, personally selected by Chris and Julie, are not only favoured by the writers themselves but were chosen for their popularity with live audiences across the globe.
Included in the selection is a rare version of ‘The Thorn Upon the Rose’ (Originally released on the now discontinued ‘Ballads’ EP), radioplay favourite ‘Shadow of My Former Self’ and ‘The Light in My Mother’s Eye’ nominated as best song in the 1999 British Folk Awards.
The collection features songs that have not only made the duo as popular as they are across the world with their fans, but also tracks that show the breadth and diversity of their writing. The subjects covered include love found (Walk the line), domestic violence (Generation Game), the decline of the steel industry (Seven years of rust), dealing with cancer (Steady Breathing), right through to the light hearted, tongue in cheek finale of ‘Class Reunion’.
It’s a wonderful collection of music, serving as a great introduction to this outstanding duo and a tremendous testimony to their career so far.


‘…shows us what a fine musical catalogue they’ve pulled together …if you’ve not come across them before a great place to start…’ – Folk North West ‘…perfect introduction to those new to their music…’ – Country Music People ‘…..good enough to hold their own on any international stage….stand head and shoulders above most other duos….’-Maverick

Additional information

Select Track

1 The Light in my Mother’s Eye, 2 Westward, 3 Shadow of my Former Self, 4 Walk the Line, 5 Generation Game, 6 Distant as the Poles, 7 Even the Desert Bears a Seed, 8 Piecework, 9 Seven Years of Rust, 10 Steady Breathing, 11 Perfect Mistake, 12 On My Way, 13 The Thorn Upon the Rose, 14 Starting All Over, 15 Class Reunion, Full Album (£10)