Chris While and Julie Matthews – Hitting the Ground Running (MP3 Download)


Track Listing

1. Carved in Stone
2. The Coldest Winds Do Blow
3. Rock of Gelt
4. We’re Not Over Yet
5. The Darkside Wood
6. Somewhere I Walk Alone
7. Hitting the Ground Running
8. Four Walls
9. Bridge Over Time
10. Ghost of You
11. Where the Year Has Gone


Hitting the Ground Running’ was the first studio album released by While and Matthews following their success in the 2009 BBC Folk Award winners where they won best duo. It showcases the breadth of their musical passion. From ballads rooted deep in the English folk tradition to nostalgic celebrations of the great American songwriter, the eleven new songs capture the energy and musical sophistication which have become the trademarks of the While and Matthews sound .
The diversity of musical styles and themes on the album are matched by the changing backdrop to the songs.

The opening track ‘Carved in Stone’ transports the listener to the mountains of Andalucía in Spain, migrating geese in Northern England provide the inspiration for the haunting folk lament ‘The Coldest Winds do Blow’, ‘The Darkside Wood’ takes the forests of Australia as its setting and the wilds of Northumberland provide the inspiration for two of the album’s central songs ‘Rock of Gelt’ and ‘Bridge over time’. These songs developed out of the 2010 song writing project ‘All Along The Wall’ which saw Julie working alongside songwriters Rory McLeod, Boo Hewerdine, Jez Lowe and Ruth Notman exploring the history of Hadrian’s Wall in poetry and song, a project which culminated in a concert and live album. ‘Rock of Gelt’ is co-written by Julie and Ruth Notman, whilst the album’s title track, a teenage tale of split loyalties, is a powerful While and Matthews co-write

Additional information

Select Track

1. Carved in Stone, 2. The Coldest Winds Do Blow, 3. Rock of Gelt, 4. We’re Not Over Yet, 5. The Darkside Wood, 6. Somewhere I Walk Alone, 7. Hitting the Ground Running, 8. Four Walls, 9. Bridge Over Time, 10. Ghost of You, 11. Where the Year Has Gone, Full album (£10)